Sint Maarten, Curacao and Aruba Delegations meet on Monday in preparation for IPKO


PHILIPSBURG, Sint Maarten – From May 27-29, 2015 delegations from the Parliaments of the Netherlands, Curaçao, Aruba and Sint Maarten will be meeting in The Hague, the Netherlands for the Inter-parliamentary Kingdom Consultations (IPKO).

On Monday, the three parliamentary delegations from Sint Maarten, Curacao and Aruba met in the Tripartite setting in The Hague to prepare for the IPKO discussions with Dutch parliamentarians.

The Tripartite meeting took place at the Mercure hotel in The Hague. Among the topics discussed were appeal in tax cases, the use of articles 15 and 21 of the Regulation of the Governor by the Kingdom Council of Ministers, screening of candidate ministers with a joint standards system, dispute regulation, nationality research as well as the feedback from several IPKO workgroups.

The goal of the meeting is to prepare for the Inter-parliamentary Consultation as well as discuss topics of mutual interest.

The Sint Maarten delegation partaking in the IPKO and Tripartite meetings consist of the following members:

Member of Parliament (MP) Hon. Leona M. Marlin-Romeo, Vice President of Parliament, Delegation leader;

MP Hon. Sarah A. Wescot-Williams, Chairlady Committee Kingdom Affairs and Inter-parliamentary Relations;

MP Hon. Van Hugh C. de Weever;

MP Hon. Frans G. Richardson;

MP Hon. Johan E. Leonard;

MP Hon. William V. Marlin;

N.R. Joubert, LL.M., Secretary General;

mr Ralph R.H. Richardson, advisor.

SxmPARL IPKO The Hague Tripartiteoverleg  Foto_CNico van der Ven  18 (2)
Parliamentary delegation from Sint Maarten (left), Curacao (center) and Aruba (right). Photo Nico van der Ven