Only 7 of 125 Candidates submit Donation Registration.


~ Deadline less than 10 days! ~

Philipsburg Sint Maarten — Three weeks after the parliamentary elections held on September 26, 2016, only seven of the 125 candidates who contested the recently held parliamentary elections, submitted their donation registration to the Electoral Council.

The Electoral Council notes with concern that with less than two weeks left before the deadline, close to 95% of the candidates who vied for a parliamentary seat, have yet to comply with the National Ordinance on Registration and Finances of Political Parties.

The remaining 118 candidates are hereby strongly advised to submit their donation registration to the Electoral Council ultimately on Wednesday, October 26, 2016. Candidates who did not receive any donations, are also required to complete the form, date, sign it and submit it to the Electoral Council by this date.

Non-compliant candidates are hereby informed that sanctions for non-compliance of the National Ordinance, which includes the publication of their names in all mass media. Elected members to Parliament are also reminded that they will not be able to take the oath of office to assume their position in Parliament if they fail to comply with the law.

Candidates who do not know how to complete the form digitally should contact their party representatives to the Electoral Council for assistance. Candidates who did not receive the email with instructions on how to access the database in order to complete their donation registration digitally, should contact the Electoral Council as soon as possible, during its opening hours at the office on Backstreet 145b or by telephone numbers 543-9888 and 543-9889 or by email-address:

Opening hours office:

Monday-Wednesday 1:30pm-5:30pm

Thursday-Friday 9:00am-1:00pm