Minister of Tourism Arrindell wishes national team for Taste of the Caribbean Competition success


GREAT BAY, Sint Maarten (DCOMM) – Minister Hon. Ingrid Arrindell of the Ministry Tourism, Economic Affairs, Traffic and Telecommunications (Ministry TEATT), would like to wish the National Team to represent Sint Maarten/Saint Martin in the Taste of the Caribbean Competition 2016 in Miami this week much success.

Taste of the Caribbean is the region’s premier culinary competition and cultural showcase held once a year where the best chefs and culinary teams unite to learn, demonstrate their skills and provide the general public with a scintillating exhibition of the savories and delectable treats of the islands.  It’s a showcase of the hottest and most popular trends in Caribbean gastronomy.

The country has been absent from the Taste of the Caribbean event since 2009. The event is organized by the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association (CHTA).  The competition will take place from June 6-12.

Over 10 teams from the Caribbean will throw their culinary hats into the ring to compete for the honor of becoming the best chef, culinary team, bartender and pastry chef in the Caribbean.

Each participating team represents a Caribbean island and has competed on a national level to qualify and participate.  Each team of composed of two senior chefs, one junior chef, one bartender, one pastry chef, and one manager. The participating team members represent hotels, restaurants or educational institutions in the Caribbean which are member of the CHTA.

“The competition is an opportunity for our best Chefs and Bartenders from North and South to showcase Sint Maarten and Saint Martin this week at the prestigious culinary competition in Miami Florida,” Minister Arrindell said.

The names of the Sint Maarten/Saint Martin team are: David Cudicio (Chef, Dreams Restaurant, Nettle Bay), Pieter Holstein (Chef, The Food Collective Rum and Peas), Ronald Estephane (Pastry Chef, Sonesta Great Bay), Suzirea Adoptie (Junior Chef, National Institute for Professional Advancement), Paul Peterson (Bartender, Temptation), and Dino Jagtiani (Team Captain, Temptation).

“I am very proud of the team who have made it this far, and I wish them much success,” Minister of Tourism Ingrid Arrindell concluded.

PHOTO CUTLINE: Minister Ingrid Arrindell