Minister Connor attends another oath-taking ceremony of Civil Servants describing oath-taking an integral part of the country’s integrity system 


PHILIPSBURG – Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunication (Ministry TEATT) Honorable Claret Connor earlier this week attended an oath-taking ceremony of civil servants from the Ministry TEATT that took place in the A. C. Wathey Legislative Hall.

The oath-taking complies with the regulation that all civil servants must take the oath in order to receive their National Decree and be appointed as a civil servant of the national government administration body.

Oath-taking is also an integral part of the integrity system of the Government of Sint Maarten.  The civil servants were read their oath in both English and Dutch, and thereafter they made their pledge and Minister Connor pinned them with the national Coat of Arms of the country.  Thereafter they were provided with the Employee Handbook which contains their rights, responsibilities and obligations.

The following individuals were unable to take the oath before and received the opportunity to do so earlier this week: Arsenio Rombley, Department of Civil Aviation &Maritime, Section Civil Aviation, Terrance Baptist, Statistical Department, Mania Hazel, Department of Civil Aviation &Maritime, Section Shipping & Maritime, and Mervin Beauperthuy, Inspection Department, Section Control Unit.

Minister Connor and Secretary General of Ministry TEATT Miguel De Weever gave short speeches which were warmly received.

“I am very proud to have had the opportunity once again to oversee the oath-taking of our hardworking professional men and women who have decided to pursue a career in public service to serve the people of this country.

“Civil servants play an essential role in the functioning of Government and society overall.  I take this opportunity to once again congratulate them and wish them much strength and wisdom as they continue to serve the people of Sint Maarten,” Minister Hon. Claret Connor said on Wednesday.

PHOTO CUTLINE: Minister of TEATT Hon. Claret Connor (3rd from right), Secretary General Miguel De Weever (3rdfrom left), proudly standing with the civil servants who took the oath.  DCOMM Photo